Knowledge Management has designed a workflow for articles belonging to the IT Library and DIT Internal Library. This workflow includes the states an article can exist in before, during and after being published.
Knowledge articles typically move through the following states in this order: Draft, Ready for Release, Review, Published and Retired.
A new article that is not published, nor under review.
This article is under review by the content owner or content owner group. An approval request is generated and sent to the content owner. It is not searchable on the IT Support website.
This article is under review by Knowledge Management. An approval request is generated and sent to Knowledge Management. It is not searchable on the IT Support website.
This article is published in its designated listed knowledge base (DIT Internal or IT Library). It is searchable on the IT Support homepage.
This article is retired from its designated knowledge base and is not searchable on the IT Support homepage. It is not deleted.
Draft indicates that a knowledge article has been created, but may be a work in progress. Any Division of Information Technology (DIT) staff member may create a Draft knowledge article.
Articles in the Draft state are not searchable on the IT Support website. These articles must be submitted for publication to move to the next state: Ready for Release.
Once a Draft article has been submitted for publication, ServiceNow will send an approval request to the content owner as determined by the Configuration Item assigned to the article. Content owners review articles for accuracy and uniqueness.
Content owners may reject or approve articles.
There are two ways to reject a knowledge article: Reject to Draft or Reject to Retire. Reject to Draft means that it will return to the Draft state; this allows an author or other contributor to edit an article, and submit it for publication later. Reject to Retire means an article will be retired.
If approved, an article will proceed to the next state: Review.
Once an article is approved by the content owner, the article state changes to Review and an approval request is sent to Knowledge Management.
Knowledge Management review the article for formatting, style, SEO and other requirements. All articles in the Knowledge Base must meet Knowledge Management's Style Guide.
Knowledge Management may reject articles in two ways: Reject to Draft or Reject to Retire. Reject to Draft means that it will return to the Draft state; this allows an author or other contributor to edit an article and submit it for publication later. Reject to Retire means an article will be retired.
If approved, an article will proceed to the next state: Published.
A published article lives in its designated knowledge base. In the IT Library, an article is searchable from the IT Support website by customers who do not need to log in to see it. In the DIT Internal Library, articles are only searchable and viewable by logging into ServiceNow.
To revise a published article, contributors must create a new version.
Published articles are reviewed automatically by ServiceNow every 90 days. Articles that fail to meet knowledge base usage standards, or articles that super-perform, may see state changes.
Published articles may be locked or unlocked. Locking an article removes it from the automated 90 day review process so that it can't move to a different knowledge base. Instead, locked articles are manually reviewed by the content owner group, then by Knowledge Management.
This is important for some articles that need to remain visible to the public regardless of usage. Alternatively, some articles contain sensitive information that shouldn't be seen by the public.
Most articles should not be locked.
Learn more about locked article workflow and notifications by reading the IT Library article, Locked Article Review Process.
Retired articles are not searchable from the IT Support website. They are not deleted and may be returned to publication via Knowledge Management's republication request process. If approved, a content owner or knowledge manager may un-retire the article and create a new version.
Articles may see retirement in the following ways: