Point in Time Recovery Using Tivoli Storage Manager 6.2 for Windows


NOTE: This knowledge base entry is relevant for older versions of Tivoli Storage Manager that the Division of Information Technology (DivIT) will cease supporting in the near future.  It has been maintained here temporarily as DivIT migrates data backup services to a new architecture.  Please visit www.backups.umd.edu for updated service information and to request migration to the updated backup service environment.

Point in Time Recovery is used when you want to restore your system as it was on a particular date/time. It is not a general-purpose recovery and is not much widely used. If you wish to and need guidance on this type of recovery please contact the backups-help@umd.edu.

  1. After deciding on the type of Restore, you need to select the files/directories/drive that needs to be backed up. You can do so by clicking on FILE LEVEL node in the left panel. You will be presented with a tree of drives and directories as follows:
    File Level
    Depending on whether you wish to recover the drive or particular directory or a sub-directory, click on the check-box beside it.

  2. The files underlying a directory can be seen on the right pane by selecting the directory. If you had selected View active/inactive files in the VIEW menu options, you will see 2 versions of each file. The inactive version is marked with an x symbol and it corresponds to the older backup set.

  3. Once you have selected the files to be restored, you can set the restore options by clicking the OPTION button on the Restore window.
    Restore options
  4. Now click on RESTORE. You will see a Restore Destination window. Select your restore destination as preferred and click on Restore.
    Select destination
  5. If you had selected Ask user before replacing in the Restore Options you will be queried each time TSM comes across a version of the file in the destination folder. Click on Replace or Do not replace as you prefer.

  6. Once all the selected files/directories/drives have been restored you will be prompted as follows:
    Restore Conpleted

Your Restore is now completed.