Manually Backup, Restore, and Recover Files Using IBM Spectrum Protect (aka:TSM) 8.1.4 for Windows


In This Article


Manual Backup on  ISP(aka:TSM) 8.1.x

  1. Navigate to Start and select All Programs, Tivoli Storage Manager, then click on Backup-Archive GUI. This will open up the Tivoli Storage Manager application window.



  2. Click Backup. The Backup window will open.



  3. In the Options you can select whether you want the backup objects to be compressed while transmitting to the server. Unless you specifically want to compress the objects you can leave it as is.



  4. The left pane of the window is where you will select the files/folders/drives that are to be backed-up.


    You can select the files/folders to be backed-up by clicking on the squares as shown above.

  5. You can also specify the type of Incremental (complete) from the Incremental (Date Only) and Always Backup. If you do not wish to explicitly set the Backup type you can leave it as is.

  6. After selecting the files/folders, click on the Backup button to start the backup.



  7. You can view the detailed status report of your backup process by clicking on Report.

    Click on Report

    If you wish to stop/abort the backup you can do so by clicking on the STOP button.

  8. Once your backup is over you will be prompted Backup completed.

    Final window

Top


Manual Restore on TSM 6.2

  1. Navigate to Start and select All ProgramsTivoli Storage Manager, then click Backup-Archive GUI. This will open up the Tivoli Storage Manager application window.

    Tivoli Storage Manager

  2. Click Restore. You will be presented with a Restore window.

    Restore window

  3. Restore can be one of two types:

    Type 1: Restoring files from the latest backup set:

    You may consider this type of restore in situations when you want data from the most recent backups. For example, recovery of a crashed disk would be for recovering and replacing a corrupted file.

    • Click View in the Menu Bar and select Display active files only from the menu options.

      Display active files only

    • Click Yes in the confirmation window.

      Confirmation window


    Type 2: Restoring files from backup set older than latest one

      

    You may consider this type of restore in situations when you want data from old backup sets.


    • Click VIEW in the Menu Bar and select Display active/inactive Files from the menu options.

      Display active/inactive files

    • Click YES in the Confirmation window.

      Select Yes

Top


Point in Time Recovery

Point in Time Recovery is used when you want to restore your system as it was on a particular date/time. It is not a general-purpose recovery and is not much widely used. If you wish to and need guidance on this type of recovery please contact backups-help@umd.edu.

 

  1. After deciding on the type of Restore, you need to select the files/directories/drive that needs to be backed up. You can do so by clicking on FILE LEVEL node in the left panel. You will be presented with a tree of drives and directories as follows:

    File Level

    Depending on whether you wish to recover the drive or particular directory or a sub-directory, click on the check-box beside it.

  2. The files underlying a directory can be seen on the right pane by selecting the directory. If you had selected View active/inactive files in the View menu options, you will see two versions of each file. The inactive version is marked with an x symbol and it corresponds to the older backup set.

  3. Once you have selected the files to be restored, you can set the restore options by clicking the OPTION button on the Restore window.

    Restore options

  4. Now click Restore. You will see a Restore Destination window. Select your restore destination as preferred and click Restore.

    Select destination

  5. If you had selected Ask user before replacing in the Restore Options you will be asked each time TSM comes across a version of the file in the destination folder. Click on Replace or Do not replace as you prefer.

  6. Once all the selected files/directories/drives have been restored you will see the following window:

    Restore Conpleted

Your restore is now completed. 

Top